Cast announced for HOW THE VOTE WAS WON

Cast announced for HOW THE VOTE WAS WON

5 February 2018, 7.30pm
The Bunker Theatre
Book tickets now →


The cast has been announced for HOW THE VOTE WAS WON, a special evening of drama and discussion on the 100th anniversary of women’s suffrage in Britain.

Isabel Adomakoh Young, Jade Anouka, Laura Jayne Ayres, Elizabeth Chan, Tricia Kelly, Serena Manteghi, Georgina Rich, Ella Road and Molly Vevers will appear in a rare staged reading of Cicely Hamilton and Chris St John’s 1909 comedy How The Vote Was Won, directed by Alice Hamilton.

Excerpts of other suffrage plays, scenes and speeches will also be performed alongside talks by modern-day artists and activists.

The playwright Rebecca Lenkiewicz, whose suffragette drama Her Naked Skin was the first new play to be produced on the National Theatre’s main stage; actor, activist and drag king Isabel Adomakoh-Young, who campaigns for groups including 50:50 Parliament and Sisters Uncut; Fawcett Society CEO Sam Smethers and suffrage drama expert Susan Croft will lead discussions on the legacy of the suffrage movement, the relationship between art and activism, and the ongoing rights struggles faced by women today.

All proceeds will be donated in support of Sisters Uncut and the Fawcett Society.

The event is to be hosted at the Bunker Theatre, London Bridge, and produced by Dippermouth. Dippermouth’s Artistic Directors Quentin Beroud and Jack Gamble said: “The victory of 1918 was the work of many amazing women – among them actors and writers whose political theatre helped to drive change. This is an opportunity to remember and to take inspiration from their work.”

Producer Maya Ellis said: “We wanted to mark this centenary by looking forward as well as back – commemorating but also challenging the legacy of the suffrage movement. We hope people will join us to discuss how we can continue the fight for the rights of all women today.”

The Representation of the People Act, which followed years of campaigning work by women’s suffrage groups, granted the vote to women over the age of 30 who met a property qualification. Though full equality was not achieved until 1928, it was the biggest single advance in the voting rights of women – extending the franchise to 8.4 million female citizens.

Tickets to How The Vote Was Won cost £12 (£10 concessions), and are available now.


Notes For Editors

How The Vote Was Won – performed on loop to meet demand at the WSPU Women’s Suffrage Exhibition – was adapted from a short story published by the Women Writers Suffrage League. The WWSL, co-founded by Cicely Hamilton, promoted writing and playwriting to advance the cause of women’s suffrage.

Cicely Hamilton (1872 – 1952) was an English actress, writer, journalist, suffragist and feminist. She wrote the lyrics to “The March of the Women”, the song which became the official anthem for the Women’s Social and Political Union.

Dippermouth makes engaged, exciting theatre and education programmes. Its last production, Richard II at the House of Commons and Arcola Theatre, was named by The Stage as one of the ‘shows that defined 2016 theatre’.

The Bunker is London’s newest Off-West End theatre housed in a former underground parking garage in London Bridge. It believes in theatre with purpose, providing ambitious artists a home in which to share their work with adventurous audiences.

Sisters Uncut is a feminist direct action group that is opposed to cuts to UK government services for domestic violence victims. Founded in November 2014, it aims to organise non-hierarchically and uses consensus decision-making.

The Fawcett Society, named after suffrage campaigner Millicent Fawcett, is the UK’s leading charity campaigning for gender equality and women’s rights.

Leave a reply